Should Cristiano Ronaldo have been awarded a penalty against West Ham? Former Fifa referee responds

Photo: Getty images

Former Premier League referee Dermot Gallagher has revealed Cristiano Ronaldo should have been awarded a penalty in Manchester United’s 2-1 victory over West Ham.

Gallagher revealed referee Martin Atkinson was wrong not to award Ronaldo a penalty after he went down under Vladimir Coufal’s challenge.

Gallagher told Sky Sports: “I was surprised this wasn’t given. I think it’s an easier decision to make to give a penalty.

“He dangled a leg, they adjudged he tried to take it away, but he’d already gone too far into the challenge, for me.”

Moments later, Ronaldo again had a strong penalty appeal waved away after a challenge from Kurt Zouma and Gallagher insists it was the correct decision.

He added: “I think this is going to split everyone. My original thought was penalty, but when I see Martin Atkinson’s view I thought no penalty, because Ronaldo goes down way before the contact.

“He anticipates the contact, but goes down way before the contact is made. Many would give a penalty, many wouldn’t, but that’s the nature of the beast, it’s a very subjective matter.”