Erik ten Hag arrives at Carrington for his first day of Manchester United pre-season training

Erik ten Hag

Erik ten Hag‘s Manchester United era is officially underway as the new manager has arrived for his first day at Carrington.

Manchester United will commence pre-season training today ahead of the start of the new Premier League season in August.

Ten Hag arrived at Carrington training complex on Monday at 8am, driven by a chauffeur, with his players reporting for pre-season training.

Newly appointed assistant coach Steve McClaren was also pictured pulling up at Carrington, 21 years after leaving his role as Sir Alex Ferguson’s No 2 at Old Trafford.

Only 15 first-team players are expected to return for pre-season training today.

Several first-team stars like Bruno Fernandes and Cristiano Ronaldo will not be in attendance after playing in June’s Nations League international matches.

Ten Hag will have a lot of work to do during pre-season, given Manchester United finished sixth in the Premier League last season, 13 points off the Champions League places.

Manchester United narrowly pipped West Ham to the second Europa League qualifying spot, just about missing out on the ignominy of the third-tier Europa Conference League.

Manchester United finished the last Premier League season with 58 points, our worst points total in Premier League history.

The Red Devils also finished 35 points off the eventual total of champions – and fierce rivals – Manchester City. 

Paul Pogba, Nemanja Matic, Juan Mata, Edinson Cavani, Jesse Lingard and Lee Grant have all left Manchester United as free agents this summer.

Players like Dean Henderson, Aaron Wan-Bissaka, Alex Telles, Phil Jones, Eric Bailly, Andreas Pereira and Anthony Martial all have uncertain futures at the club.

The players Ten Hag is expecting today for pre-season are:

Goalkeepers: David de Gea, Dean Henderson and Tom Heaton.

Defenders: Aaron Wan-Bissaka, Victor Lindelof, Eric Bailly, Phil Jones, Axel Tuanzebe, Brandon Williams, Luke Shaw.

Midfielder: Donny van de Beek.

Forwards: Jadon Sancho, Anthony Martial, Amad Traore, Marcus Rashford.